skip to primary navigationskip to content

The Audrey Richards Prize for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies

last modified Jan 16, 2014 12:22 PM

 The Audrey Richards Prize is awarded biennially for the best doctoral thesis in African Studies which has been successfully examined in a United Kingdom institute of higher education during the two calendar years immediately preceding the ASAUK Biennial Conference. 

The 2012/ 2013 prize will be for theses examined between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2013.

Nominations must be made by supervisors or examiners, with the permission of the candidate, by 31st March 2014 and should be submitted to;

 Professor David Maxwell

Emmanuel College

St Andrew’s Street



 Nominations should be accompanied by a supporting letter (no more than 300 words), a copy of the thesis, and where possible a copy of the examiners’ report. The recommendation for the award will be made by the Vice-President of ASAUK supported where necessary by Council colleagues.The winner will be announced at the September 2014 Annual General Meeting of the ASAUK (which will take place at the ASAUK Biennial Conference) and the prize presented at this Biennial Conference at the University of Sussex

David Maxwell - Vice-President, ASAUK